WiFi + MQTT dongle for Mitsubishi Ecodan

I’m now considering this:
https://community.openenergymonitor.org/t/monitoring-controlling-ecodan-via-cn105/
but I have no experience of ESP32 development so it is all a bit daunting.

Given there might be a few of us now looking down this route because of the current MelCloud issues would someone like @Dan_Nichols be able to give a very simple set of instructions for getting this set up.

The instructions on GitHub are understandably trying to be product agnostic but a list of exactly what to buy where and how to put it together (with some photos) and how to set up code would make it easier for anyone new.

Also I’m assuming there would be no way to connect both the MelCloud dongle and local CN105 controller? I guess there is a danger of messages conflicting between the two or voltage level issues?
There might be reasons to still want to use MelCloud as well, the main one for me at the minute is to allow Mitsubishi to look into my hot water heat up issues.

1 Like

@ajdunlop I will make some time to provide as much detail as I can. It’s one of those that I would describe as daunting until you’ve done it (if you know what I mean). I’ll start by providing a list of required hardware and follow up with some instructions/pictures of one of my assembled modules (warning its not a consumer level finished product!).

As an aside I noticed that there is someone on ebay selling a very neat looking MQTT dongle which could also be worth a look if you don’t fancy getting your soldering iron out Mitsubishi Ecodan WiFi Connector to MQTT for Heat Pump | eBay

3 Likes

Thanks for linking Dan,

I’m the maker & seller, I made my own based on the ESP8266 because:

A) Limited availability of official WiFi unit for my FTC5 or at a reasonable price
B) Avoid relying on MELCloud

I made it available on eBay to those who don’t want to have the hassle of sourcing hardware from China, make up cables and then wire up to a microcontroller.