Planning a new system, advice needed

Hi all,

I am very new to OEM so have a few questions to get me started.

Before I order the kit to get started I need to ensure I have the correct equipment to measure my system.

I have a Solar Edge PV installation with an immersion diversion (Immersun) connected.

I would like to monitor PV generation, energy diverted to the immersion and grid import/export.

In order to do this I see a few options;

1. Purchase a emonPi with 2 clamps + AC-AC + DC 5v powersupply. 1 clamp on grid, 1 clamp on solar gen, ac-ac to ensure grid direction can be calculated, then import data from the solar edge api to read/report generation

2. Purchase a emonPi with 2 clamps + AC-AC + DC 5v powersupply. 1 clamp on grid, 1 clamp on solar gen, ac-ac to ensure grid direction can be calculated, then add a emonTx V3 with another ac-ac (ac-ac but also powering unit) and 1 clamp to measure the solar generation

3. Something else I have not considered/thought about/know about?

One thought I did have was, can the ac-ac on the emonTx V3 supply the reference voltage to the emonPi meaning I only need one ac-ac?

Any advice would be most welcome.

Thanks

Lake

First, this is a clamp. In the UK, we use current transformers to measure current.

Secondly, Immersun is in voluntary liquidation, so you might want to think about the degree of support that is likely to be available in the future for your diverter.

As youā€™re in the UK, I assume a standard 240 V single phase installation.