Using ESP to control pump speeds via PWM

@Rachel I’m thinking I might start by loading ESPHome onto an ESP chip of some variety to allow control of the pump speed and expose this in Home Assistant.
Home Assistant is already subscribed to the MQTT topics coming from my OEM flow meter so the next step might be to set something up to steer the pump speed based on this. There is a PID controller HACS integration I might try to do this.

If it turns out that this is to clunky and really I need to be controlling based on a higher frequency of temperature sampling I might have to go down a similar route to you where I connect temperature sensors direct to the ESP and do everything on that.

I’m new to a lot of this stuff although it is dredging up distant memories of doing similar things on PIC Microcontrollers during my electronics degree.

@ajdunlop I think your approach will probably work OK. I didn’t have home assistant when I was thinking about it and I already had an ESP device reading the flow meter, so it seemed like a natural extension. However, the control doesn’t need to be fast as nothing is happening very fast in the system. You will need to add a few bells and whistles to the control though. I use an Arduino PID controller algorithm, but I do have to change how it works depending on whether the heating or DHW is running (as I have two pumps and a LLH). I’ve also just added some code to restrict the minimum pump speed on DHW as I was gettng those strange periods that others have reported where heat output is zero even though the ASHP is drawing a kW or so. Keeping the flow up does seem to have fixed that - I’ll do a post on the relevant thread when I’ve got enough data to convince myself!

@Rachel I’ve just put in the order for all the parts for my ESP journey starts now!

Our system should be a bit simpler as we only have a single pump for heating and DHW.