Setting up a P1 (CT100) feed

I am new to this. I am using a wifi enabled TX3 and emoncms.org. I have search the manuals, forums and spent a lot of time experimenting.

How do I setup my input so that I can get two feeds from it. My attempt below does not work.
i) instantaneous power (in watts)
ii) daily accumulation on energy (in kwh)

Many thanks, George

Hello George, to record power and cumulative kWh you only need two processes, Log to feed and Power to kWh, you can remove the others.

Thanks. I am slightly confused now. There is an E1 and a P1 input in my emontx3. Which should I be using?

Should I just use the P1 for the instantaneous power in Watt, and the E1 for the cummulative energy consumption in Wh?

I can then esily convert to kW and kW in the report output.

The difference between power converted to energy in emonCMS and energy directly reported by the emonTx is this: if the data fails to make it to emonCMS, the accumulated energy from the emonTx will be accurate; whereas the change in the accumulated energy in emonCMS will be calculated (estimated) from the two powers either side of the break.

So you can use whichever method you prefer.

Thanks, the best way to get the energy is from the E1 input. So… E1 = kWh; P=1 Watt. I have the P1 feed setup. I am not getting the correct power appearing.

I now want to configure the E1 input to give me two feeds. I would like two accumulated feeds in Wh and kWh. I have set up as below, but the kWh is not correct. It seems to be a factor out. What could be wrong?

Why are you trying to convert Wh to kWh by using Power to kWh? E1 is already in units of energy - that’s why it is called “E1” - E for energy.

In short, what’s wrong is your maths.

If you want to convert watts to kilowatts, you multiply by 0.001. The same for Wh to kWh.