OpenEnergy Thermostat

I was curious if there are any plans to create a Thermostat to control Central Heating appliances, Forced-Air Gas furnace or boilers. Would be great since the project already has portable temp/humidity sensors.

I found the following (below) not sure if the would integrate with Emoncms

https://www.cube-controls.com/2016/01/17/temperature-monitoring-with-pi-cubesraspberry-pi/

Thoughts?

We have been using en ESP8266 based MQTT WiFi thermostat: WiFi MQTT Control Relay Thermostat - Guide | OpenEnergyMonitor

I’ve been running one in my own home for two years now controlling the heating, it works great:

Thanks Glyn,

I’ll take a look but at a quick glance I don’t see how it will control a force air system with a variable speed fan calling for heat or A/C depending on temp. My current thermostat has 6 wires and this looks like it might handle 3. I’m no expert so your guys forum is invaluable for me to figure everything out. I really want to control my furnace based on emonth I have around the house and eventually control 3 dampers I’ll install on the trunk lines.

Thoughts?

@cbwonderboy take a look at the Linknode R4 Wifi 4 Ch Relay Board thread for a board with 4x single pole changeover relays controlled by an esp8266.

In theory it should run the same firmware with some modification for the additional channels.

That sounds fairly standard, many heating controllers and timers have 2 independent single pole changeover contacts.

In the guide’s “Physical Connections” section it states the latest version is only a single pole single throw device as the normally closed relay contact isn’t available. You could (at best) use this device to switch another bank of relays.