Need help to setup EmonTX 3 Phase based monitoring

Hi,

First of all, thanks for all the nice Open Source hardware and software.

In order to discover the energy monitoring universe, I have recently bought the following components

• 1 x emonPi
  • 1 x emonTx V3
  • 2 x emonTH V2
  • 5 x 100A max clip-on current sensor CT
  • 2 x AC-AC Power Supply Adapter - AC voltage sensor (Euro plug)
  • 1 x 5V DC USB Power Adapter (Euro Plug)
  • 2 x RJ45 Encapsulated DS18B20 temperature sensor

Everything is working fine for RF connectivity (emonTX → emonPi and emonTH → emonPi), temperature monitoring (local and remote with emonTH) and single phase CT monitoring.

But I am not able to set up my 3-Phase (french) based energy monitoring with emonTx, even after having crawling the guides and forum. I am a rookie in electronics and electricity, that may be the reason :slight_smile:

For the time being, I have

• updated the emonTx with the latest 3-Phase firmware
  • plugged 3 CT into the emonTx “normal” CT inputs and put them on each phase, right after the ouput of my main electric meter.
  • plugged the AC Voltage sensor on an power outlet connected on one of the 3 phase

Data is now sent by emonTx to emonPi with a “3phase” prefix (it was “emontx3” before the firmware upgrade), with those keys : powerL1, powerL2, powerL3, Vms (and others).

I didn’t proceed with any calibration, and I don’t know right now on which phase my power outlet is connected.

The problem is that I really do not know how to validate my setup, as the values provided by the emonTx seem incomprehensible to me : L1 and L2 are switching from positive to negative values, and L3 is always postive.

Here is the graph of powerL1, powerL2, powerL3 and Vms for a laps of 2h30.

Can someone help me understand these values, and show me how to finalize my setup to record the whole house and and per phase energy consumption ?

Regards,

Charles

Welcome, Charles.