Length of current transformer leads

I have been using an emonpi for several years now and am very pleased with it.
My panels on my shed approx 25m away from my meter box , My emonpi at the meter box has two clamps , one on my cable from the shed (solar) and the other measuring import from the grid .
I have just bought a 2nd hand electric car which I trickle charge in the shed . As I only have one main line from the shed to the meter box , the solar measured at the meter box is incorrect as the power used in the garage subtracts from the solar output.
Can I move the solar clamp to the shed and connect it to the emonpi with data cables?
A data cable was run in conduit to the shed when the the solar was installed and the inverter has a sensor on the meter box to measure voltage and import current . There are spare pairs available.
Rob

Hi Robert, welcome to the forums.

Thereā€™s a few topics here where this has been discussed, try searching for ā€œCT cable lengthā€, or ā€œextend CTā€.

ā€œCTā€ stands for Current Transformer, which is the correct name for the ā€œclampā€ youā€™re asking about

Hereā€™s a few results from a brief search I just did using those suggested terms:

If after searching you end up with specific questions, certainly feel free to elaborate in this topic with more details.

1 Like

Thereā€™s a full article in ā€˜Learnā€™ - linked in the second post @Greebo has quoted.

And indeed, as an electrical engineer, the only type of clamp I understand is one of these ā€“ a busbar clamp:

But a woodworker friend uses these:

1 Like

Robert
I think I should have used the word CT sensor. Iā€™m a civil engineer more used to bulldozers and scrapers and not up to speed with electrical terminology. I am , however , very interested in renewable energy , micro-grids and community batteries and am learning more each day. I believe the solution to my problem is relocating the CT sensor to the inverter using a suitable data cable with twisted pairs.
Rob