Integrating with HomeAssistant

Hello, has anybody got an idiots guide on how to do this? I have been running Emonpi and EmonEVSE for charging car from solar for a while now. I have now had a try with HA and struggling a bit. I would like to send data from emonpi to HA so that I can turn plugs on etc to use excess solar instead of exporting. Any help would be appreciated Thank you.

The old topic was solved so start a new thread.

What have your tried and what doesn’t work?

I use the Emoncms integration for HA, it works well

This is my simple HA setup, photo was taken a while back when electricity prices were crazy cheap!

I have tried the above and keep getting error message in yaml (bad indentation of a mapping entry at line 26, column 3:
platform: emoncms)
I am new to HA and have been trying to get different things working and have got a bit lost. So now trying to get one thing at a time working.

Mark, getting the identation correct in YAML can be a pain, I use Visual Studio code when I work with YAML in HA as I find it is easier to see incorrect indentation which, if I recall correctly, indentation has to be spaces not tabs. It looks like I am about to embark on a similar path once I understand the Emoncms feed.

This is an excerpt from my Home Assistant config YAML where I pull a bunch of feeds into HA entities.

- platform: emoncms
    api_key: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    url: https://emoncms.org
    scan_interval: 10
    id: 1
    unit_of_measurement: "W"
    value_template: '{{ value| round(0) }}'
    include_only_feed_id:
      - 374689 # import
      - 374691 # solar
      - 374693 # use
      - 405881 # export
    sensor_names:
      374689: "Importing"
      374691: "Generating"
      374693: "Using"
      405881: "Exporting"
3 Likes

This is all I put into my configuration.yaml, it just brings everything across from my emonPi which is on the same network. Note you have to use the IP address, you can’t use http://emonpi.

sensor:
  platform: emoncms