Help monitoring 2 phases of AC current only ADS1115 & NodeMCU

Hello all,

I have been reading, studying, learning and pulling my hair out for about a week now and am finally at the point where I am totally confused and need to ask for some guidance. Firstly, I’m an electronics tech of over 40 years so the hardware is no problem for me, I have been working with Arduino boards for about 5 years, mainly using others code and modifying to suit my needs so I have basic understanding of code and libraries but I still have SO MUCH to learn, which is why I keep challenging myself with these projects.

Project overview:

I live in the country and we have frequent power outages, I have 6KW Onan backup genny, old, but reliable. I want to be able to monitor oil pressure, cylinder temp (it’s air cooled) and current of both phases of the 230VAC output so I can balance the loads. (I’m in Canada, 60Hz) I have the temp and pressure working just fine, my problem is measuring the 2 phases of current. Ideally I would like to use the NodeMCU ESP8266 as I have all code written for wifi connectivity for it, and the temp and pressure code, as well as terminal screw breakout boards. From what I have read, although the ADS1115 is slow, it will give reasonable accuracy for current measurement. I’m not concerned with absolute accuracy down to .1A but would like to know what the current loads are on each phase, I don’t need to know power out, if I can incorporate it in the same project however, I will.