emonCMS on Raspberry Pi 3 - Inputs page hangs when accepting input from a new node

Hi everyone,

I am new to EMONCMS and Python programming.

I am using the Raspberry Pi 3 model and I have installed EMONCMS (localhost) on it.

Anyone, please help me how to add the Node modules to localhost emoncms…?

Welcome, @vasanthk239 to the OEM forum.

I’m not sure what you mean by “Node modules”. What is it that you want to do? What are you measuring, or trying to measure? You have a Raspberry Pi, but what else do you have?

Dear Robert,

Thank you very much for your email. I have installed EMONCMS on my Raspberry pi. Whenever I am going to create an input from the Input API helper (JSON format) it will not addedd in Inputs. It was just getting reloading.

From where are you trying to create the input?

Normally, the Raspberry Pi running emonCMS operates unattended, with neither a keyboard nor screen, like any Internet file server. I have never tried to send the data from the RPi. If you are using “http://localhost/…”, try using the IP address instead.

If you use a normal computer on the same LAN, you log in to emonCMS remotely and then you can use one of the examples from the Input API Help in the address bar of your Web Browser. When you request the page, you should see “{“success”: true}” and back on the Inputs page, the new input should appear.

This is how I access my emonPi:
Screenshot 2022-02-14 19:33:57

The IP address you use will be different - it is allocated by your router when the Raspberry Pi connects. You should be able to change the settings in your router so that it always uses the same address. If you don’t do this, the address might change when the router restarts.

Then copying this into the address bar of a new page in my browser:

(and Enter of course to send it…)

and back on the “Inputs” page I have a new emonTx and the data from it:

Screenshot 2022-02-14 19:45:31

Thank you very much Robert.