Emon system tips for absolute beginners?

I Hello, I just found this excellent forum, whilst researching how to install a sub-metering system in my house.
I see a lot of quite advanced advice being shared (seems advanced to me) but can anyone direct me to simpel start-up tips?

I have 3 x DIN-rail Modbus meters that will meter electricity used by 1) electric heating boiler 2) immersion water heater and 3) cooker.

I know in general I have to connect the meters to a Raspberry Pi, and install software on that, and connect via ethernet to my PC.

I have never used a Raspberry Pi, so:

Which system elements do I need other than an Emonpi? Or do I just need the Raspberry Pi?
How to I choose which Rapsberry pi to buy?
How to I put software on it?
How to I connect the wires from the meters to it?

etc… I am sure that when I start I’ll find more things I don’t understand.

NB I am an energy engineer so I understand the energy aspects of this, but I am no good with electronics and wires, so I have to find step by step guidance somewhere.

Many thanks.
Daniel

Welcome, Daniel, to the forum and to OEM.

Phew, what a question! It’s a simple question, the answer is not nearly so simple. In short, there are no simple startup tips, you need to know some electronics, some electrical engineering, some programming, and knowing about energy comes into it too!

“Emon” is an abbreviation for Energy Monitor. The first of these was the emonTx - energy monitor with a radio transmitter. Then came the emonPi, an energy monitor with a Raspberry Pi. That leads me to the second question - on the face of it, if you are using DIN-rail meters, you don’t want an emonPi - because you will have the ‘emon’ part in the meters themselves. Just a Raspberry Pi and an adapter to connect to your meters will serve your needs.