Electrical Device Detection

Howdy All,

I’ve been using EmonPi for a few months now and while I was doing some other research (typical link surfing) I came across an energy monitor that caught my attention.

It claims that it can identify what device is being used by the noise/interference from the power line.

I can understand that this is possible as in essence, this is how ethernet over powerline adapters work.
I can understand that each device has it’s own distinct power draw profile (unless it’s a heating element as the draw and resistance changes as it heats up)
The only issue I can see so far (bearing in mind this was a passing thought), is if electrical devices have a similar draw/noise profile on the powerline and the system couldn’t distinguish between the 2. E.G 2 vacuum cleaners of the same make and mode.

While writing this a suggested article popped up

I’ve no idea if this is the same thing as I don’t understand fully what’s being discussed in the article.

Either way, if there was a way of identifying what electrical device is being used and how much power it’s using, then that would just be nothing short of amazing!
I know that there are plugs that you can add in between the wall outlet and the electrical device but this is somewhat of a pain in the behind to go round every single device and measure it.

Do you think this is even possible to build this into EmonPi?
Dan

In short, no. I rather doubt that any one technique will be the answer. What you mention might be useful to providing additional data that can’t be got from measuring the characteristics of the current drawn, but even so I think you’d need to rather a lot more processing power, and a much higher sampling rate for voltage and currents, than an emonPi can provide.