? about setting up CTs

Hello,
I am excited to start participating. I am a novice. I hope someone can advise me on CTs. I live in the US (Seattle, WA). Included is an image of our wiring box. My goal is to monitor each individual circuit (the ones coming off the breakers) and total energy use (the larger wire … I assume…).

Q1: There are two circles on the image. One is around a thick wire. I assume this is where I would put a CT to measure total energy use? Is this a 4/0 Gauge ? (note: i ready the “Use in North America” section so I assume a 100A CT split core would work from any of the recommended vendors?).

Q2: The second circle is around a wire attached to the breaker that supplies current to a section of our house. Am I correct that to monitor each section (e.g.: washer, dryer…), I put a CT on each of these wires. These wires are much thinner than the other and also closely spaced. Can you please point me in the direction of which CTs would be best for this scenario?

Once I figure out how the CTs would work, I’ll figure out how to set stuff up with the firmware.

Thank you very much.

1 Like

Hi Margaret,

Welcome to OEM.

OEM is a whole-house monitoring system. Although it can be expanded / adapted to multi-circuit monitoring, there’s a newly developed device called IoTaWatt that would be well suited to your application. IoTaWatt is not yet available, but the OEM Shop hopes to have a small quantity of pre-production units in the next few months. See this post.

Just above, and to the right of the upper circle, is what appears to be 4 AWG. I can’t tell for sure because the photo is blurry. The number to the left of the letters AWG is the wire size. If the printing on the wire is 4/0 then the answer to your question is yes. If so, you’ll need one of the alternative CTs, as the SCT-013 sold in the OEM shop won’t fit wires of that size.

Yes