Which RPi to use, Argon One case, M.2 SSD

I’m totally new to the world of Pi but want to set up an in-house emoncms server, to use with my new IotaWatt energy measurement system. So I plan to purchase the emonSD to make it easy to set up the Linux OS etc.

I do have some experience with Linux and with Unix in general, though it goes back quite a few years.

I’m planning to order a Raspberry-branded Pi 4B, along with the Argon One M.2 case and Argon power supply. I figure for long-term data storage with database-level access, a “real” SSD (SATA M.2 form factor) would make sense.

Will this work?
I realize I’ll need to migrate the OS and other files from the emonSD to the SSD. And that there are steps involved to get the Linux OS to boot from the USB-connected SSD.
Will the OS on the emonSD card work with the Argon One case?
Will the emonSD card be compatible with the Raspberry-branded Pi 4B (I have to assume the answer to this is yes, but feel I should ask!).

Hello @ICPete

Yes the emonSD image works on the Pi 4B, cant see any issues with the Argon case… I haven’t tried migrating the OS and other files to a separate SSD but I know others on here have done that.

It’s worth noting that the emonSD image has 3 partitions:

• boot partition
  • root OS partition (ext4)
  • emoncms data partition (ext2)

You could replicate the root and data partition structure on the SSD or perhaps just have the OS and data in a single ext4 partition, that will also be fine I imagine. The ext2 partition on the SD card has a smaller block size to reduce write load, but that may not matter so much on the SSD…

An alternative to starting with the image could be to prepare your OS and SSD first and then install the emoncms stack using the EmonScripts github.com/openenergymonitor/EmonScripts/

I’d do that - just leave out the init part so the disk doesn’t get partitioned.

Move the OS first.

1 Like

Ok thanks guys.