What Heating System would you choose?

Tim, if you won the lottery and decided to build a new home, what kind of system would you go for with hindsight?

UFH, radiators, ducted air or what? I hope you don’t mind all these questions.

rgds,

Martin

1 Like

New builds tend to go with UFH, which usually means lower flow temperatures and higher efficiencies. This is the obvious choice.

Retrofit installs typically rely on fitting newer radiators, which is what I did - works well enough.

Ducted air is fairly uncommon here in the UK, but other countries do have them. The alternative is to have multiple small air-to-air heat pumps, on either side of an external wall. This can work well in some situations, but probably not the first choice for a new build.

(just my opinions, I’m no expert)

Compared to me, you are an expert! But which system would YOU choose?

For a new build, underfloor heating, for sure.

I don’t know the merits of having UFH in upstairs rooms, or if they’d be better off with radiators. :man_shrugging:

2 Likes

Hello,
Following the dialogue regarding UFH. I am just about in install as ASHP. But my property was built in 09 and has UFH fitted on the ground and first floor, which are both concrete floors. The top floor is timber construction.
My overall experiences over 12 years are as follows.

1. UFH on concrete floors with ceramic, marble tiles etc works well.
  2. UFH on concrete floors with an engineered wood floor bonded to the concrete floor, also works reasonably well, but obviously not as good as ceramic.
  3. I have one UFH zone on the top floor where the pipes are installed underneath a chipboard floor which is then covered with ceramic tiles. The performance is poor and this is using a higher flow temperature than would be used using an ASHP. I wouldn’t install again and please note it was installed using Polypipe’s procedure and the area under the floor is very well insulated.
2 Likes