What do I need as a real newbie?

Just discovered Open Energy and I’m interested in setting up a system to monitor my solar PV system.

Unfortunately it’s installed on my garage which is too far away from my router to connect via WiFi and hasn’t an ethernet connection so it looks as if I can’t use the emonPi unit. It looks as if I could use an emonTx plus a emonBase if the wireless signal will reach it (I have a wireless bird box camera on the garage which works OK) to upload data to emoncms to be able to remotely monitor it. What I need to know is - can I just buy these units and “plug and play” and start using them without any programming? I have no experience with programming languages so I would be reluctant to do anything in this area!

As I see it I would need at least:
emonTx + sensors & power adapters
emonBase + SD card image + power adapter

Am I correct?

Sorry to appear thick but I don’t want to splash out on kit which I’m unable to configure!

Why can’t you use the emonpi for it?
you can still log locally and spawn a wifi network from the raspberry pi 3 directly. However you still won’t have webaccess… that’s true…

OR you could use a USB Mobile network modem to upload your data to the web (this woudl require an internet plan with a sim, in germany you can get 100 mb free at netzclub …)

but in principle you can also use an emon tx and the emon base, but I don’t know if there is absolutely no programming to do… To my mind you need to at least install the emon base, this needs some configuration work, however no real coding. just reading, understanding and changing some values in text files on a linux shell. Nothing toooo fancy, but if you are a total novice with linux shell it’ll take you a few evenings.

-julian

If you think you need to write code, not really needed. You can if you want to customize since it is open source. But you can just do basic install and use some basic pre configured tools to monitor a solar production site.