Water Heater control

I would like to control my water heater element with a power controller. The controller requires 0-5V DC to control the element output.
At present I use Node Red to control two relay units to provide 500W to 1500W when there is enough solar.
I was hoping to use a Click analog output module (ADAC Click) atop my raspberry Pi but am struggling to work out how to control the output module.
Should I use I2c or GPIO?
Information provided is here: ADAC Click | Mikroe

Out of curiosity what is the controller you are using ? . Looking at the data sheet for the AD5593R the chip used in the ADAC, I2c would be your best bet as the chip looks like a straight forward DAC/ADC - I’m not a expert on the PI and I2c.

Dave.

You could also look at the energy diverter by Robin (@calypso_rae) documented in ‘Learn’. The basic logic would require very little change to output a 0 - 5 V signal (using a 5 V Arduino of course, not a Pi), which would feed your power controller directly.

1 Like

You’d still need a DAC though, right?

Not if the PWM output is used, but a rudimentary low pass filter will probably be necessary.

Hi Dave,
When I get home I will reply about the Power controller. Where would I look for good I2c documentation?

Hi Robert,

Thanks for this heads up. My Mk1 approach had the Arduino generating a DC control signal which (via a voltage doubler ) went to a proprietary controller. The main improvements for the Mk2 are its ability to use an inexpensive output stage and its rapid response time.

Sorry I haven’t checked this thread in a while, a link for the AD5593R can be found here http://www.analog.com/media/en/technical-documentation/data-sheets/AD5593R.pdf

For I2C in general the Node-Red group is very good Redirecting to Google Groups scrub that it’s moved to https://discourse.nodered.org/

Dave.