Using Maxim 78M6631 as sampling chip?

I’m new to this intetesting subject and have read alot on this site and forum. It seams to be much talk about accuracy and sampling regarding to arduinos limitations. Wouldn’t one be better of using a chip that was made for this? I have looked at th 78M6631 from Maxim and that seems to solve most problems. The arduino can take care of the calculated stuff that the chip spits out. What would be the draw backs of using this method? Sure its an extra cost of maybe 10 bucks but I think thats cheap to get 0.5 % accuracy on a 3 phase system.

The biggest issue with using a device lke the this is safety. The 78M6631 requires a direct connection to the mains.

For safety, you MUST isolate your low voltage circuit from the mains supply. If you don’t, it is possible with certain fault conditions, to have lethal voltage where you normally expect a safe 3.3 or 5 Volts.

I’ve no idea what [quote=“Malmen, post:1, topic:856”]
maybe 10 bucks
[/quote]

means, but the list price does not reflect the true cost of incorporating a device such as that. The application data shows galvanic connections to the power circuit. As you are no doubt aware, and as Bill points out, we rely on type-approved isolating transformers to assure the safety of our users. Were OEM to adopt the direct connection philosophy shown, it would immediately mean that the necessary isolation would be required after the device, and it would no longer be possible for users to modify or customise their devices. It would also mean that the device must be officially tested and certified before being put on sale, which adds further to the costs.
Also, you must not expect the overall accuracy to be 0.5% - that appears to be the accuracy of the Maxim device itself and does not take into account the accuracy of voltage and current transformers, which could add nearly an order of magnitude to that figure.