Using Docker emoncms with inputs from MQTT

I’m new to OpenEnergyMonitor, but I think I’ve worked out that the standard Docker image for emoncms can’t accept data from MQTT because the process that subscribes to the relevant topic and handles the data doesn’t run (because Docker images typically only run one process and in this case it’s Apache).

On the assumption this is correct, I’m toying with the idea of modifying my image to use supvervisord to start both Apache and the MQTT reader process, though I’ve not looked into this very deeply as yet so there’s always the possibility of that approach being a dead end.

Has anyone already done this (or something similar) and care to share any ideas/information?

Thanks,
James

My experience with emoncms and Docker is years old. At that time, the integration was not very good and it didn’t appear that anybody was really working on it. I did a quick search and it seems other people have had more success and done things differently. There is nothing that says you HAVE to ONLY use one process in a Docker image. You can make an image that does lots of things. It goes against the pattern of single micro services per container, but that is just a pattern. People follow patterns because it makes some things easy.

I actually use NodeRED to translate from MQTT to emoncms and/or influxdb. I have individual containers (not using Docker, but could work with Docker too) for:

• MQTT
  • NodeRED
  • InfluxDB
  • Grafana