Using an SCT-013 to calculate "low overhead" instantaneous power monitoring, is this method missing something?

Hi, first time poster. I’m working on a pool controller project, based on a particle.io photon (Arduino-like). I am currently adding “power monitoring” for my pool filter pump and Stenner pumps, which are pumps that add acid and chlorine to the pool. All I really need is the wattage being consumed at any given time by those devices. I am a retired electrical engineer with chip design background so AC fundamentals are definitely NOT a forte. I think I have a solution that works, but I am unclear if I am missing something obvious.

I am using a couple SCT-013’s to accomplish the hardware portion of the project…setup exactly as described in this tutorial.

https://learn.openenergymonitor.org/electricity-monitoring/ct-sensors/interface-with-arduino

I started looking at the openenergymonitor library which has been ported to the particle.io Photon, but there seems to be a lot more there than I need (??)…I am also concerned about the “blocking nature” of the code (large number of consecutive A/D samples required), as all my other code is written in a non-blocking manner.

So I wrote some code which seems to do the job, but I really don’t understand all the intricacies of realPower vs apparentPower and powerFactor. So I might be missing something or possibly run into a problem when I use this code/hardware for my 220v pool filter pump (Stenner pumps are 120v).

The code does ~20 strategically timed samples of the SCT-013 60Hz output over a period of one second. These 20 samples contain 16 equally spaced points of the 16.7ms period of the 60Hz signal. The peak-to-peak values (high and low) are extracted from the code and a constant multiplier converts it to a current (amps) value. Then it is multiplied by the voltage (120v) to get watts.