Unsupervised appliance identification and/or Non intrusive appliance load monitoring and dissagregation

Hi,

I’m new to your community, but I was looking at some of the commercially available energy monitors and wanted access to the raw data and realized I’d have to go for something open source to get any sort of access to the data. I also don’t really feel comfortable sending information about when I am home to someone else’s server.

My goal would be to have low level access to information similar to the data Sense makes available in their app. I want low level access so I can integrate it into something like HomeAssistant (or openHAB if thats your thing).

My relevant credentials: I’m a neuroscience PhD student with a background in Computer Science. I do electrophysiological recordings (continuous voltages recordings from the brain with high frequency and resolution on many channels) then spike sort (identify the unique voltage-time shape templates of spikes from individual neurons). I also do unsupervised segmentation and analysis of birdsong which probably gives me the useful parts of voice recognition without the biases caused by all the human specific natural language models (a lot of the Sense team has voice recognition backgrounds). A lot of what I’ve done with birdsong has involved machine learning and Deep Neural Networks, but I’m not sure whether that will be completely necessary in this application.

Proposed project: