Total newbie trying to work out what I need and how to setup

So I am new to EmonPi, but I know Linux and have existing Pi’s running around the house PiHole etc.
I also know networking, but know very little about power/energy monitoring. I have had Solar Panels fitted this week and want to monitor how much power is going back to the grid, as well as home much power I use, and lastly how much power my Solar produces. My setup is Type 2.

So my view is I want EmonPi with a CT clip for the cable in the meter box, and another CT clip for the solar feed. Now I have lots fo questions so I will list them below.

1. The AC-AC needs to be plugged in, as does the Pi USB power. I don’t have a double socket in range. So I plan to run an extension lead, but have read this which says “Extension leads are never a good idea for a permanent installation, so I’d recommend getting a double socket installed at some stage.”. Why is that, if I run a plug to some flex and the wire into a backbox with double faceplate, that is no different to a spur on my ring main. Only difference is a don’t need a part P because I have a plug on the other end. Can I do this for now? What is wrong with extension and AC-AC?
  2. Assuming extension is a bad idea then I could locate the Pi elsewhere but would need really long runs for the CT clips, I am happy cutting the provided cables and soldering in some CAT6 to make longer, but what is the maximum length I can go?
  3. Where my Consumer Unit and Meter are, I have a meter for my generation tariff on solar. But it is hard to access a cable to CT clip to for the solar, could I use a pulse sensor for the solar generation instead of a CT clip?

I have attaches pictures of my setup to help any advice. I am considering putting something (maybe the EmonPi maybe something else) in the loft next to the Inverter as easier to CT clip for the solar. Could I do the meter end remote in some way?