The deltaT on ASHP is sometimes 1 deg - sometimes 8 - same day!

Ive scoured the forums here for an hour on this… nothing seems relevant.
A friend has a Nibe HP (10 years old) in the large , well insulated house they bought last year.
Have found the elec bills very painful - > £10/day

So with my emonCMS experience - i wired up loads of sensors to look.

I’m hoping that tweaking down HW temps and adjusting the Curve will do the business.

But -that deltaT variation…

The one HP does HW too, with a valve. (hence the spiky parts on the graph)

The NIBE controller is SMO10 and HP’s outside F2015 - both no longer sold.
There is a 300 litre buffer tank in the CH - 3 pipes: bottom: 1 connection to RETURN of both HP and CH; top 2 pipes, in series between HP FLOW and the CH pumped FLOW

I’m no expert in heating or plumbing, but I’d guess that the low dT at 2am is caused by either some valves that aren’t open or some pump that isn’t running. In effect, the HP is supplying heat to the buffer tank, but the central heating system isn’t taking heat out of it. Based on that one chart, it seems like the heating has turned off for the night, but didn’t tell the heat pump.

Some questions to ask:

• how is the heating controlled? is it on a timer?
  • radiators or underfloor heating? or a mix?
  • do radiators / UFH have their own thermostatic valves?
  • single zone or multiple zones?
  • how is the hot water triggered? can it run convinced to run less often?
2 Likes

Thanks for that input. Your suggestion makes sense.

Your Questions:
how is the heating controlled? is it on a timer?

• it’s purely the NIBE SMO10 controller. (12 year old system - no longer buyable) It has no timers - but does allow an overnight set-back

radiators or underfloor heating? or a mix?
Pure UFH - up and down.

do radiators / UFH have their own thermostatic valves?