Temporary Monitoring Application

Good afternoon,

I am currently investigating using an emonTx4/emonVs/emonBase system as a temporary monitoring device to measure site level grid import and export over a weekly period.

The OpenEnergyMonitor guide has been useful for learning about your devices and I believe the system is suitable for my application. As I am completely new to electronics, it would be helpful to get some further clarification and guidance before I purchase any components and get started:

1. Can an emonTx4/emonVs/emonBase system measure power import and export? Other systems I have investigated and tested have been unable to measure grid export and cannot measure the direction of power flows. Is the emonVs voltage measurement necessary for this (I canā€™t find this referenced in the docs!)?

2. As the system would be used as a temporary monitoring device and would be installed/removed regularly, it would be preferable to use flexible coils (see https://www.echun-elc.com/productsShow.asp?id=445) because they are easier to install than the clip-on alternatives. Are the flexible coils compatible with the system?

3. Can the emonBase store data locally onto an SD card? This is important for the intended application as there is often no wifi access where the systems are installed.

Any help with the above would be much appreciated.

Many thanks!

Welcome, Adam, to the OEM forum.

Some answers for you:

1. Yes to both. Without the voltage reference, itā€™s impossible to determine the direction of power/energy flow. As a rider to this, thereā€™s a ā€˜Learnā€™ section here with some basic (and some quite advanced) theory about energy monitoring. I donā€™t suggest you try to learn it all, but itā€™s well worth knowing itā€™s there. Thereā€™s a link at the top of every page of the forum site.