STM32 Nucleo 64 dev pcb

[Note -This started out as a PM thread following on from the STM32 Development - #140 by ian thread, the PM has now been made public so others may join in]

Hi Paul

I have done some preliminary work on a shield using the morpho connectors on the nucleo 64.

I am no circuit designer, I am a CNC machine tool retrofitter by trade. Initially I have replicated the EmonTX shield using the morpho connectors instead of the Arduino connectors. I have made no effort to change any values to reflect 3.3V.

I also wanted to see how easy it would be to fit more CT sockets. As you expressed interest in PCBs I attach the preliminary files for your observations. It looks as if 8 CT & 3 AC sockets could be fitted on the board pretty much as shown.

Silk.pdf (26.3 KB)
SMT32.pdf (24.0 KB)

Hi Ian

What I had in mind is really quite different. Perhaps we should start a public discussion?

As I’ve said in the STM32 Dev thread, there is no intention of using the nucleo boards beyond development and I’m looking for something more flexible that I can attach any CT to any ADC channel. There fore the morpho connectors are somewhat wasted when jump wires can be moved around.

We are also not planning on using the voltage dividers for the midrail, instead we want an op amp derived midrail. Although I might be tempted to still include the footprint and holes for the voltage dividers in case the opamp thing doesn’t pan out or even to facilitate a side by side comparison.

The shield is really quite dated now and it doesn’t have any protection for the ADC inputs so we would need to include clamping diodes and 1k protection resisters too on each input.

Also we had determined that the AC voltage divider needs to be a much lower impedance so we can sample the VT much much faster allowing us to have more genuine V samples rather than calculating/interpolating V values from a more sparsely sampled voltage.