Solar PV diversion options

Hi. I am getting solar PV installed next week and I am looking at getting an Emonpi. However, I’m a complete newbie when it comes to the level of tech that I am coming across on the forum. What I am interested in doing is monitoring how much electric I am producing/using and if there is excess I would like to turn on a smart plug (attached to washing machine or dishwasher) and any further excess to the immersion (can emon pi do this directly or do I need a solar iboost or equivalent?). In order to do this what do I need to purchase from yourselves and what smart plugs can easily work with this set up? I had originally been looking at Wemo but I have seen a lot about LightwaveRF on your site - if I need to use LightwaveRF do I need the Lightwave link too? Also, is the connection with the LightwaveRF sockets or the plugs?

Thanks,
Sinéad

Hi Sinéad,

Thanks for your interest. Yes, the emonPi solar PV will monitor your generation, consumption and gird - import export. See: https://https://guide.openenergymonitor.org/applications/solar-pv/

It would be possible to switch an immersions heater on/off using a light wave RF inline relay: https://www.megamanuk.com/lightwaverf/products/inline-switching/jsjslw830/.

The inline relay can be controlled from the emonPi with OOK trasmitter, see: http://guide.openenergymonitor.org/integrations/lightwaverf/. It would be simple to use nodeRED to write a little flow to turn on the immersion when for example more than 2Kw of solar is available.

However, the inline relay would only be able to turn the immersion on-off, it would not be able to modulate the power of the immersion based on solar PV output which I guess is how solar iboost works.