Solar, Heatpump and Ev monitoring design

I’ve got an air source heat pump, Tesla and Nissan E NV200 electric vehicles. I’m looking to install Solar so want to get everything monitored so I can see what’s going on.

The Solar will be on the garage roof 20m (open air) from the house and the consumer unit for the EV is in a shed 10m from the house. The heat pump is on the main consumer unit. Everything is 240v single phase.

The solar will be 3.3 kw. The EV charging is 5kw. I’m not sure of the power consumption on the air source heat pump.

I’m new to all this, but I’m thinking of using two emonTx V3’s (one in the shed, and one in the garage) then a emonPi for the base station / heat pump monitor. Is this the most sensible solution?

I could feasibly monitor the EV at the main consumer unit too, but the feed out to the shed also powers the pond pump so that would skew the figures a bit.

There is only one line going out to the garage so monitoring that back at the house wouldn’t be very accurate hence the remote emonTX V3 (there are lights / compressor etc running off that line)

Any advice would be much appreciated! Sorry if my questions are a bit newbie

Don’t worry about that, Rick. Welcome to the OEM forum.

I think what you suggest will work - I’m wondering if you’ve thought about monitoring the house in any better detail?

What is WiFi coverage like from (say) the shed to the house? And how far is the shed from the garage? I’m wondering whether an emonTx in the shed is overkill - it has 4 channels and you’ll use maybe 2, when the house could have things you could usefully monitor separately - so is it an idea to swap the emonPi and the shed emonTx?

I’m assuming your incomer is in the house, and you need to measure that, then to get your general house consumption, you need a measure of everything going out and in on the shed feed and the garage feed. Measuring those at the distant end should be OK.