‘Smart! Meters

Hi I’m a newbie on this forum, but I have had a ‘Robin Mk2’ diverter since 2013.
Will my diverter function with a smart meter? I’m asking do that I know the situation for when/if I’m forced down the smart meter route. Thanks

In short, we don’t know.

The diverter will continue to work of course, but the real question is, will you get charged for every tiny chunk of energy you import, because the meter’s “energy bucket” is too small for the matching chunk you export to cancel it? It depends on exactly how the meter is configured internally. I’m afraid the only answer is to wait and see. My suspicion is you will get charged, possibly for all of each small chunk of import. But you should not be charged for your export.

The safest way to operate a Mk2 PV Router is in its “Normal” mode, rather than “Anti-flicker”. Normal mode is the default setting for most of the sketches on the Downloads page at https://mk2pvrouter.co.uk/downloads.html. The original Mk2 sketches as available from the archived OEM forum are no longer supported by me.

A smart meter has recently been fitted at my own house. Although there are still 1000 optical pulses per kWh, some of the LEDs on the meter blink when the Mk2 is running its original “Anti-Flicker” configuration. When switched to its “Normal” mode, all LED activity ceases and I feel confident that no charges are being incurred.

Tightening the AF settings could well have a similar effect but I have not yet done so.

1 Like

Hi Robin

My mk11 was built to your design for me by a member of the now defunct ‘Talking Solar Forum’. I don’t really understand what you mean by the different modes of operation. Can you explain it to me please?

Thanks

Chas Hyde

From the comment near the top of the basic Mk2_bothDisplays_4.ino sketch:

The power-diversion logic can operate in either of two modes:

• NORMAL, where the load switches rapidly on/off to maintain a constant energy level.