Smart Meters and PV diversion

I have been running a PV diverter for several years now that I build from the circuits on this site. I’m very happy with the savings I’m making in heating my hot water. My electricity provider (Scottish Power) have now notified me of smart meter installations in my area. What I want to know is will my homemade diverter still work with a new smart meter? If not, can I just ignore the messages I’m getting, as I have no real need for a smart meter?

I’d like to hear some experiences for other people who are using a PV diverter with a smart meter.

Thanks,

Allen

The diverter will still “work”.

What happens next will depend on the size of the “energy packet” that your new meter uses (Learn | OpenEnergyMonitor). If the burst of energy that the diverter lets through each way is larger, then you’re going to be charged for importing even though the nett transfer of energy is zero. Unless you know the numbers for your new meter, there’s no way of knowing what the result will be.

It’s your decision, but if you’ve no desire for a smart meter, and you get the equivalent information from your own kit, I can’t see any advantage for you, and there’s a possible big disadvantage - you’ll effectively be paying the network to store your energy.

I too use an “energy bucket” style diverter for water heating, and I’m getting a smart meter, to take advantage of low tariffs to charge our EVs.
Is there any knowledge out there on the energy bucket size (if any) of smart meters?
Alternatively would it take a PWM style diverter (ie one that diverts in the microsecond range, not seconds) to solve this?

I believe - but with no firm data to prove it - that some must work down around the 1-cycle time frame. It should certainly be possible to do that, but impossible to deal accurately with reactive loads with an averaging period below 1 cycle.

I think you need to wait and see, and be ready to adjust the bucket size to see what effect it has.