Should I use kWh value from a power meter or calculate it from W via input processing?

Hi! Newbie here, nice to meet you all!

Background: I have various Shelly Plug S’s in my home, which are integrated to Home Assistant. Yesterday I went to see some history data from HA, and it had very nicely just lost months worth of consumption data. I decided that it’s finally time to install EmonCMS and start to collect the data there as well (as a better time series DB for the job).

I have now managed to expose both W and kWh entities from Home Assistant to EmonCMS, and those show as a single input node with multiple err… attributes? Anyway, I can see the current values on the Inputs page:

I also managed to create related feeds by reading the basic guides. The power input updates every 10 seconds (minimum time for the time series DB, right?), and here is the input processing for it:

The kWh input updates (really) every 60 seconds (because based on HA data, that is the interval when Shelly plugs send that info), and here is the input processing for it:

I also store this data in a feed with 60 second slots.

My question is:

I have two different ways to obtain the kWh data, either directly from a Shelly Plug S, or by calculating it form the W value in EmonCMS. Is one these more preferable than the other? On a long run, can one of these provide me more accurate data over time than the other?

Thank you for your help in advance!

The reason why I’m asking, is because there seems to be a difference (although a small one) between values reported by those two feeds:

Welcome, Jouni, to the OEM forum.

It is really your choice - linked with what happens when things go wrong. :wink: