Self build ESVE. What bits do I need?

Am a newbie here so pls forgive the simple questions. I am struggling to find a full description of what the ESVE does beyond it’s datasheet.

I have a failed Chargemaster/Polar tethered ChargePoint that I want to upgrade with an Open ESVE PCB. I hope to use the existing contactor, car lead, etc. in this charge point. It is fairly roomy inside so there is space fit the Open ESVE stuff.

I’d need a Wi-Fi connection for the App. But how do I do solar diversion with my PV? Some other similar products only measure the PV generation and use that to decide the car’s the current. Instead can the Open ESVE account for house load and so reduce net export to near zero?

Looking at the shop presumably I need:

The ESVE PCB
A display. Does the monochrome one come with the ESVE PCB as its in the pictures?
Some CTs although the ground fault one is out of stock. Will it work without this one?
Wi Fi gateway

Do I have to have an emon monitor too to transmit the export value to the ESVE or will a wired CT do it? If I do need one is the emonTx enough or do I need the full emon solution? That adds quite a lot of cost when I already own similar alternative energy monitors.

I have a Leaf with 3kW charger onboard and Octopus Agile.

PS The link to the user guide here About the OpenEVSE category seems to be broken, although I found it here EV Charging - Guide | OpenEnergyMonitor

Hi,

I know i is extra cost but as you are on Agile and want to use solar divert the easiest option is the EmonPi solar version. This is what I have and it is very easy to then set it up as you want for the EV charging and then if you want to play more you can start adding lots more bits that listen to the Pi’s MQTT data and do things depending on that data, it can get quite addictive :slight_smile:

John