Saying Hi from the US

Hi saying hello. Seems there’s a lot to dig into here. I’ll be reading all the great material you folks have made available.

So my background

I’m on standard grid electricity now but am very serious about solar, so whatever I set up now will be part of the transition to solar in the next year or so. I’ve even considered building my own solar system, including solar panels, based on products available on the market. Before I jump into that I want a good fix on my current electrical loads.

I’m in the US and was looking to setup a home electricity monitoring system package. But my choices have been dismal. Either look to a big outfit with big fees, or look to small time operations with questionable hardware/software. Part of my interest was sparked by my ongoing fight with my power utility who relentlessly overbills me. In 2018 I recovered around $1,500 US from my utility company for overbilling.

I’m not an engineer, but I know this stuff is not super difficult. I’m an architect, do my own remodeling and wired my own house. Plus I have a little background in the electronic/signals industries. So, my goal is to cobble together some basic monitoring hardware with a good software package to log my usage data.

That’s it. Thanks.

Hello to you, Nathan, and welcome to the OEM forum.

A couple of things to point out if you haven’t picked them up already - OEM is UK-based (Wales to be precise) so everything we do tends to have a bias towards the UK electricity supply system. But that only means that a few things aren’t perfectly tailored to your system, and they won’t present much of a problem. We have very many users in the US.

We’ve tried to give an outline of the differences between your system and ours (in the ‘Learn’ section), and that was put together with a great deal of input from @Bill.Thomson, who is an Electronics Technician living in Oklahoma. His professional experience and knowledge should be invaluable to you.