Samsung Gen 6 8kW Efficiency

Hello all, newbie here. I self-installed an ASHP during the lockdown when I was unable to get anybody else to do it. It was checked over and certified by two qualified ASHP engineers. Problem is, it’s never been terribly efficient and I struggle to get a COP much over 2 which is awful (and pricy at the moment). I can’t find anything obviously wrong with it, though as it was a retrofit into an existing plumbing system, there are some idiosyncrasies.

I have a PassivSystems MMSP, but other than telling me that it’s not very efficient, it doesn’t really help to diagnose the issue(s). It’s also not very user-friendly as I have to download the data using a .csv file and they say they are not developing the package any further. I’m intrigued by the possibility of being able to read the data directly from the ASHP controller as I’ve seen mention on here of. Happy to share screenshots if anybody is interested.

I’ve tried the obvious things, but they haven’t really helped:

• there is no mixer valve in the system, house is heated directly via UFH and some rads.
  • the original pump was a little slow, but now I have pumps that supply over 20l/m, both to the ASHP and to the circuit.

Other things about the system that might be relevant:

• it is open vented, but the Samsung is designed to work even at 1 bar
  • There is a large thermal store (1,500l), originally for a wood burning stove, but even when the ASHP is isolated from the thermal store, there is no observable difference in performance.
  • We have UFH (60m2) and a handful of rads, though much of the UFH has wood flooring which will obviously reduce the heat transfer considerably. I think we’re up to 45º at -3º and it seems to keep the house warm, but not very efficiently.
  • The UFH and rads are balanced so they are getting the same flow rate.

I’m really scratching my head. I could maybe look at installing another energy monitor, but not sure what I might be looking for.