Remote PV monitoring

Hello and thanks for your help. I have a 4kWp PV system installed on my garage at the bottom of the garden with SMA inverter. The garage has a hardwired CAT6 cable connected to an access point to give extended wifi coverage. I would like to monitor the PV generation, export and electric consumed. I am also looking at the possibility of EV and battery storage in the garage together with a air source heat pump in the house if funds allow. As an electrician I can do all the hard wired parts but when it comes to programming I’m completely lost. Can you point me in the right direction for a starter kit that will set me on the right path. I have looked but not sure on the set up with the garage being remote from the house. Thanks

Welcome to the OEM forum, Mark.

Looking at your wish list, you want to monitor:
In the Garage

1. PV Generation
  2. EV use
  3. Battery in/out

In the house

1. Export
  2. House use
  3. ASHP

That’s awkward at 3+3. Had it been 2+4 it would have been a little easier/neater

There’s no “Starter Kit” as such that would suit what you want, so it’s got to be put together. An emonPi isn’t a good idea as it has only two current inputs, so I think you need two emonTx’s and one Raspberry Pi to run emonCMS on, plus either an ESP8266 or (preferably) a Pi Zero W. Each emonTx has 4 inputs (3 × 100 A & 1 × 18 A). I suggest co-locating the RPi with one of the emonTx’s and using a wired serial input to connect them (or you could have the RFM69Pi module on your RPi - converting it into an emonBase and use the radio if you prefer), with the other emonTx similarly connected serially to the ESP8266/Pi Zero W. Both would connect to your LAN via the router or AP, the ESP/Pi Zero by WiFi and the emonBase either WiFi or Ethernet. Which way round you have them (house or garage) is up to you.

So it looks as if your shopping list is
2 × emonTx
6 × c.t.
2 × a.c. adapter
1 × RPi (latest) + PSU