Remote access from internet to my EmonBase at home

I just updated to the latest SD card build of EmonBase. All is working well at home internally to my network.

I now want access from the outside internet. I was doing that fine with my old setup, which I’ve been running since 2012. But for some reason I can’t make it work with the new setup.

I have forwarded ports as required. Neither the web server nor ssh are working from outside. I poked around in various config files, but haven’t found anything. I’ve never had this problem with several other rasbian based setups.

Is there something that the EmonSD setup does differently that I need to tweak to get outside access?

Thanks for any help.
-Ed

Solved, at least enough that I’ll probably figure it all out from here.

My raspberry pi has 2 IP addresses on my LAN. One for the ethernet (like 192.168.1.200), and one for the wifi (like 192.168.1.201). I have been doing all my internal (LAN) emoncms setup via the ethernet address, so naturally I used that address when setting up port forwarding with my router. But it turns out that for some reason that doesn’t work - I need to use the wifi address for port forwarding.

Why it is this way I don’t know, but I expect a little research will clue me in.

Strangely, and probably related to this, I can’t use my wifi IP address internally to SSH or run Node-red - I have to use my ethernet IP address. As in, for Node-Red, 192.168.1.200:1880 works, but 192.168.1.201:1880 doesn’t, yet for access from the outside internet, 192.168.1.201:1880 is the one that works (via port forwarding).

I solved my problem by just disabling wifi entirely on the Raspberry Pi, following
https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=63&t=138610

Just add a line to /boot/config.txt:
dtoverlay=pi3-disable-wifi

Hi @edllew,