Question regarding precision of CTs (SCT006)

Hi everyone,

I am quite new to the topic of energy monitoring. I bought an IotaWatt and some SCT013 and SCT006. My plan is to use the SCT013 to measure the main leads coming into the distribution board and use the SCT006 for additional per-room measurements. I was now playing around with the stuff I got and was little confused about the readings I get.

I hooked up a hot air gun into a power meter, and measured the current on the lead using one SCT013 and two SCT006. I noticed, that the power readings of the two different CTs differ significantly as you can see in the following screenshot:

iotwattreadings

The measurement of the SCT013 seems to be spot on (less than 1% difference compared to the power meter), but the readings of both SCT006 are really bad. Additionally they differ significantly each to another. The readings you see in the screenshots where made by additionally pressing them shut, without that, the gap between them is even worse.

The power factor reported by the SCT013 is spot on to that measured by the power meter, but again the SCT006 show significant differences.

What could be the problem here? Is this the expected accuracy of the SCT006? (I hope not, I ordered a bunch of them xD…). Is there anything I can do to improve the accuracy of these CTs?

Thanks and Regards,
Jan

There are test reports in the ‘Learn’ section for both the SCT-013-000 and SCT006.

If that doesn’t help, I suggest The IoTaWatt forum is a better place to ask a question that is specifically about the operation and use of IoTaWatt. That is managed by Bob Lemaire, and he and the other users there are more likely to have the specific knowledge to help you.

The IoTaWatt forum uses the same software as this, but you must register a new account there. If the user name you have here is not taken, it might be helpful to have the same user name in both places.