PV generation and consumption monitoring help please!

Would really appreciate guidance from the community on the right hardware and how easy it is to use for a complete beginner with limited IT skills!

I am a domestic energy adviser looking primarily at the feasibility of battery storage in customers homes. I believe key is understanding house load, no point in recommending storage which is never fully charged. As part of may service I monitor house usage, initially for a month, and need equipment to do this.

Although there are a number of energy monitors, nearly all have CT clamps to monitor the PV and I do not want to open up generation meters or consumer units to get to the live.

Would the EmonPI work with the pulse meter and one CT clamp for consumption, for my purposes? Does this show the PV output on the webportal? Is this easy for a IT novice to set up?

Thanks for your help.

Anthony

Quite a few people start here as complete beginners with limited IT skills. It’s a steep learning curve, but as long as you don’t assume that we know what’s in your brain, and tell us the full story, there are a lot of people here willing to help.

I’m sure you must know how energy meters work, but in case not, the LED (visible or I.R.) will only flash for power/energy flow in one direction. If you equip an emonPi with an optical pulse sensor, then you can use that to count pulses from one meter. Unfortunately, the microprocessor that we use cannot handle two pulse inputs, so you do need a current transformer (please, not a clamp, that’s something carpenters use) for any other circuit. As you’re in the UK, the meter tails are normally easily accessed so a split-core c.t. there will measure either nett grid power or (if you’re downstream of a Henley Block where the P.V infeed connects but upstream of the consumer unit) house consumption.