Problem with the current sensors

Greeting,

My name is Barral Pierre and i’m a student In the University Institute of Technology in Nîmes (France).

With my partner, we are actually working with an EmonTx V3 ,EmonCms and a raspberry to coordonate both software and hardware.

But we have a problem.

Last student worked with it and now we have problem to calibrate the current sensors. (we had 77, -34 and -48 for valors with EmonCms and our ammeter was precisly 25 A).

Do you have any tips or tutorial on how calibrate the current sensor and the EmonTx to have regular and plausible Valor ?

Best regards.

BARRAL Pierre

There are several articles about calibration, you can reach them via Resources > Building Blocks.

If you do not read repeatable values, check that your current transformer has been installed correctly, and that the faces of the ferrite core are clean and fit closely together with no air gap.

The standard sketch “emonTxV3_4_DiscreteSampling” will measure current on the 3-phase supply that you have in France, and if the three line voltages are always the same, it will read apparent power correctly.

But the standard sketch cannot measure real power on a three-phase supply. For that, you need a sketch with “3-phase” in the name.

thanks for the anwser.

We continue our work on the EmonTx. My Professor Gave me the Uart connector to be able to reprog the emonTx and that’s pretty cool, i didn’t try it out because i had to do some research about how to do it and stufff like that.

I went on the Github and found the sketches you were referencing about !

i guess thursday i’ll try it with Platformio. i installed it on my linux computer.

By the way i have two little questions.

Do i really have to download the skectch on github and install it via the Linux terminal thanks to platformio ? or should i do it in another way ?