Problem getting +import/-export eco mode working on openevse

Hi, I’m new to openevse. I have built mine from the kit which is working really well. I bought the unit to replace my old chargemaster unit as I wanted to better use my solar generation and the ability to divert.

I understand that the eco divert mode works by MQTT from the ct clamps from my emonpi. I can get the use solar generation to work by setting emon/emonpi/power2 MQTT command with power2 being my solar generation. This works with the openevse starting when my solar PV system generates more than 1400w.

What I can not get to work is the excess only feature. If use power1 I only get my home energy use and not what I’m exporting so I never get a negative output on my ct1 so eco divert won’t start.

From what I see is I need a power1 minus power2 but I don’t know if it’s possible to do this or if it’s a limit of emonpi to provide the data. There is a power1 plus power2 line in emonpi inputs, can I add another input, virtual in effect as the emonpi only has to ct inputs.

I would love to be able to get this feature to work, any help would be much appreciated.

Hello @Rjallan21 There is a publish to MQTT input process that might work for your requirement. If you subtract power2 from power1, then publish the result to MQTT with a topic of the form emon/solarpower and then subscribe to that on the OpenEVSE that might work

I sort off tried to do this but don’t know how to do it without causing a problem with my energy monitoring.

I assume you mean add this in on the inputs page on node5 emonpi, power1 line?

I finally sorted this, as @TrystanLea said i added a publish to MQTT line in inputs.

It’s a shame there is not more explanation about how to integrate the openevse with MQTT and emonpi. It’s is assumed you have a good knowledge of how the UI works but I found this to be very vague.