OpenEnergyMonitor as a energy monitor and analysis system for academic buildings

Hi there,
i’m an italian mechanical engineering student and i’m working on my thesis about energy efficiency and energy management. I’ve some budget to buy a system of hardware to build up an energy monitoring system, but i need some informations and advices from you.

Our university is divided in some departments, located all over the city of Viterbo. I want to track 6 departments. Now we check the electrical consumptions with 6 different PODs that send informations to the distributor and we can download from the distributor’s website all the datas in .csv (hourly consumptions in kWh + reactive power).

Every department is composed of 3 or more buildings and has 1 electrical panel. I need a way to track all the electrical consumptions divided in these 6 departments; in addition to that i want to divide only 1 sample departments in “buildings”.
So i have for example:
5 areas located in different points of the city + 3 areas located in the same point and with the same electrical panel but differents electric cables (i can split up the building in 3 areas - buildings - and sum it later in the software)

Every department has a free wifi and we have a internal network. Can I send informations and datas through this network?
We have both 380 V (3-phase) and 230 V (1-phase) AC current - 50Hz.

The question is: how can i this system? Which hardware i have to buy for each “area” (5 areas in different points + 3 in the same point) and which hardware i need to collect all the datas and send them to the CMS?
Do I need only 6 emon-Pi + 8 current sensors maybe?

Thank you!
Paolo

I can answer the measurement questions, but I cannot answer about sending the data. I believe with the ESP module - in development - added to an emonTx, that it will not be difficult, and I think Paul (@pb66) has done many installations similar to yours.