Null Data and Wireless

Hi everyone, I am using the emonTXv4 - WiFi version and collecting data every 10 seconds. Over a 24-hour period I am seeing anywhere from 0.3% to 1.0% of my data come in as Null. See snippet below.

Column headings are:
Date/Time, Amperage, Temperature (F), and RSSi
2023-11-13 10:27:40, 6, 52.3, -46
2023-11-13 10:27:50, 6, 52.3, -46
2023-11-13 10:28:00, null, null, null
2023-11-13 10:28:10, 6, 52.5, -47
2023-11-13 10:28:20, 6, 52.3, -47
2023-11-13 10:28:30, 6, 52.3, -47

I am attributing the nulls to momentary loss of wifi connection as all data values are null. Is this correct and to be expected? (< 1% of data as null isn’t the end of the world, but I am trying to understand what could cause this).

Also, is this to be expected if I use 433Mhz instead of WiFi?

I appreciate any insight or experience others may have.

Gordon

I have no experience of emonTx4 and Wi-Fi, all I can add is in the last 24 hours - and this is a 12-channel emonTx4 using two Nodes to send the data - the first node to transmit recorded 8635/8642 successful messages and the second one 8638/8642, using LPL protocol at 433 MHz ISM band to an emonPi.

Thanks, Robert. If I interpret this correctly, you are having a success rate of 99.91% and 99.95% respectively. Pretty darn reliable!

I know this is getting into the minutia, but would you attribute the unsuccessful messages to “wireless” or would you expect similar results if this was a hardwired connection? Just trying to learn and get expectations set correctly.

Thanks,

Gordon

I prefer to look at it as 4 and 7 out of 8642 going missing.