Nodered won't connect to MQTT

Hi, Im pretty new to this, but I’m trying to connect a relay to my emonpi via Nodered.
The emonpi is brand new and has the pre-loaded SD. It’s also posting to emonCMS.
When I configure an MQTT input node to reference any of the emonpi topics the node won’t connect.
If I reboot the emonpi I get a message (below the node) to say it’s connecting but eventually it goes back to disconnected.
As far as I can tell the MQTT server is posting the data as it shows in the emonhub log. The config file also has the MQTT username/passwords: emonpi/emonpimqqt2016
Sorry if this is covered elswhere but I can’t seem to find anything. Thanks in advance for any help.

Can you post the flow JSON please? to do that select the flows by dragging the mouse over them then on the hamburger menu top right, select export, then clipboard and (with the text in the window highlighted), click export to clipboard. You can then paste it in a message here like this. put 4 left ticks (not apostrophes) before and after the text to put it in a box.

[{"id":"f53cfc06.fab2f8","type":"debug","z":"25471496.37cf34","name":"","active":true,"console":"false","complete":"true","x":670,"y":320,"wires":[]},{"id":"b889d5d7.f53b2","type":"catch","z":"25471496.37cf34","name":"","scope":null,"x":500,"y":320,"wires":[["f53cfc06.fab2f8"]]}]

Could you also explain a little about what you are trying to do. It may be better on a Node-red forum if it is a general Node-red issue.

Thanks for the reply but you lost me with the “hamburger”.
I told you I was new to this.
I’m trying to set up the emonpi to control the MQTT relay depending on the electricity export.

The icon with 3 horizontal bars - “sandwich”?

Common term for the 3 horizontal lines at the top right of the node-red page (and other pages) indicating a menu.

We all were new once.

So you are sending data to Node-red from Emoncms?

Yes, or at least I’m trying to.