New starter - No hardware purchased from the shop yet

Good afternoon,

I’m a software developer with very theoric (non-practical) electricity knowledge, want to install and get started with OEM for the most basic use case which is energy monitoring, I’m happy with monitoring only my main import. My short-term end goal is to have it running, run the software including EmonCMS, play around, learn etc… Am I right to get the EmonPi2 Single Phase with one or two CT sensors? (Haven’t bought it yet) Here’s my smart meter set up, where would you add a single CT clamp? I have contacted an electrician to ask about other stuff in the next few days, I may consult with them about this too but I’d like to know what to ask them as it’s not guaranteed they know what I’m trying to do etc.

Welcome, Rosana, to the OEM forum.

What you have there is a standard UK single-phase domestic installation. For the present, your only choice is an emonPi2, with a single phase emonVs and a single current transformer.

You can put the current transformer either on the red cable on top of the main supplier’s fuse (labelled “60 A 415 V a.c”) where the hand-written “4” is, or on the loop of grey cable coming from the brown terminal of the meter. It won’t make any practical difference. The arrow on the c.t. should point along the cable in the direction of the consumer unit in each case.
N.B. The cables are safe to handle, provided you can’t see any bare copper - which if the wireman did his job properly, there won’t be. But it’s wise to check first, one member here posted a picture somewhere on this forum of a completely unsatisfactory job by the regional electricity company (or their contractor).