MQTT configuration with ThingSpeak

Hi,

I’m new with MQTT. I’m trying to publish WiFi Relay temperature to ThingSpeak but without success. Is it possible? If yes, is it possible to have exemple what i should write in User, Password, Publish Topic and subscribe topic field?

Thanks for help

François

I am not familiar with thinkspeak, however it looks like it has an MQTT API:

https://uk.mathworks.com/help/thingspeak/mqtt-api.html

https://uk.mathworks.com/help/thingspeak/use-desktop-mqtt-client-to-publish-to-a-channel.html

You should be able to post directly from the relay via MQTT.

Just enter the thing speak MQTT details into the relay config: WiFi MQTT Control Relay Thermostat - Guide | OpenEnergyMonitor

1 Like

Francois, as Glyn suggested, it’s pretty simple to do it.
Just open the “Broadcast Daemon” page of the WiFi Relay and config it like this:

HTTP GET broadcast enabled?: … select it
Site: api.thingspeak.com
Port: 80
URL: /update?key=XXXXXXXXXXXXX&field1=%d&field2=%d&field3=%d&field4=%s&field5=%s&field6=%s (instead of the XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX just put your channel WRITE KEY)
ThingSpeak channel: YYYYYYY (instead of the YYYYYYY put your channel ID)
ThingSpeak RO API key: ZZZZZZZZZZZ (instead of ZZZZZZ put your RO API Key)

After that you have to restart the WiFi relay!

You have to create an account on Thingspeak.com and then creat a channel.
After you create the channel, you’ll find there the Write, RO API keys and the channel ID (API KEYS tab)
On the channel settings tab, just give it a name and select the first 6 fields.

I also selected “Show status” and then saved the settings. You’ll see the values registered (if all went fine) in about 30 seconds.

Thanks for your answers,

The broadcast Deamon is not on the menu of the new version of the relay. In the pass, i had the three channels relay and yes, it was easy to broadcast to Thingspeak.