Monitoring car charger, solar generation and house consumption

I am a newbie and was just hoping someone could confirm my proposed system sounds workable.

I want to monitor what my solar panels are generating, what my car charger is consuming and what the house is consuming. I believe I can do this with an emonTx with battery pack fitted inside the meter cabinet, 3 CT sensors and an emonBase to upload to emonCMS, using the 3 CTs as follows:

1. One on one of the house consumption cables (yellow circled grey cables top right).
  2. There is already an old Owl Intuition CT clamp on the solar live inside the switch box on the right. This is the white cable coming out of it. It does not have a 3.5mm plug on it though, so I will have to replace it, to get the solar generation.
  3. The car charger also feeds into this switch box so I could clamp the 3rd CT on the charger live inside the switch box too.

In the diagram the solar and car charger cables are the two thick black cables circled in blue at the bottom. I can’t use these as they contain both the live and neutrals. The red circled cables in the middle I presume are the combination of the car charger and solar supply, merged within the switch box. Without an AC-AC sensor to detect direction I presume I can’t use these either.

Planning on buying:
emonTx + battery box
emonBase + enclosure + 5v power supply
3 CT sensors
USB to UART programming cable

Hello Richard, and welcome to the OEM community.

I think you are working along the right lines.

Clearly, you realise that without access to a reference voltage, not only do you lose accuracy but you also cannot know the direction of power flow, and so that’s why you need to measure current where you absolutely know which way the power is going.

I guess you’ve thought about this - there’s no way to get a mains socket fitted inside the meter box?