Monitor 40 appartments

Hello,

I want to monitor the temperature in a block of flats appartments. The goal is to have between 20 and 40 temperature and humidity sensors.

Is OEM suitable for this purpose? In particular the fact of not being able to exchange with the server since it will certainly be necessary that I move a laptop with an antenna.

I am interested in your feedback.

Thank you

If you use our standard software, which uses JeeLib, you may have up to 28 emonTH temperature and humidity sensors in one group reporting to one emonBase or emonPi. To have more, you would need custom software in the additional sensors to put them in another group, and custom software in the receiver to handle the second group. These are limits imposed by JeeLib. Note that all of the sensors use the same radio frequency, therefore you could have a problem when more than one is transmitting at the same time.

You might wish to look at the LowPowerLab library - I have no knowledge of that library, but it might not have the same restriction on the number of sensors. I believe using it would require only a small change in our software.

With that many nodes, it’s more like he will have a problem with packet collisions.

Given the long interval between transmitted packets, the actual amount of data lost might not be too bad.

Over what sort of floor area / distance? Sensors x Flats per floor x floors? Could you put one ‘base station’ per floor communicating via WiFi?

How accurate? What is the structure Brick / stone or partition walls? New / old build or conversion?

I suspect any system will not work like this.

The standard sketch transmits 12 bytes of data, plus 9 bytes of overhead, at the rate of 49.23 kb/s, at intervals of 55 s approximately. Doing the maths, that means one transmitter occupies the radio channel for ~3.4 ms every 55 s, or 0.0062% of the time. 40 transmitters will together occupy the channel for ~0.25% of the time.