Module Level PV Monitor/Optimization/Rapid Shutdown

Hello, I am Dan from Minnesota, USA. I am new to the OEM site, but am very intrigued by the work that has been done. I am deploying a substantial solar site with Schneider Electric XW+ inverters, MPPT 60-150 charge controllers, 48VDC battery bank, battery monitor and ComBox. I intend to use this to power our property and to utilize as a platform to test add-on monitoring and related devices. I am a Mechanical and Software Engineer, and have much experience with Electronics but am not an EE. I am a proponent of Open Source, and am very excited to see the broad spectrum of OEM projects.

I would like to float the idea of an Open Source PV Module level device with modular capabilities like:

• PV Module Energy Monitoring (of course)
  • Rapid Shutdown
  • DC Optimization

Very much like what TIGO is doing, but as an Open Source/Architecture suite that can be utilized with any vendor. Also to enable the expansion into new functional capabilities like Curtailment. Some of the motivations behind this are:

• Module Level Monitoring is very compelling
  • Ability to retrofit Rapid Shutdown in existing installations
  • Optimization can be a value add if expanding/reworking an installation
  • Improve performance of partial shading conditions

There are some big challenges like high DC voltages, certifications and things I can’t even imagine right now. But I wanted to throw this idea against the wall and see what sticks. I look forward to any thoughts the community may have.

As a starting point, here are some high level goals/requirements:

• Design or source a standard module level device enclosure:
    • Robust enough to handle exterior use, potentially be certified
    • Permit daisy-chaining of modules up to 600 VDC minimum, perhaps 1000 VDC
    • Provide capability to plug in swappable electronics modules
    • Provide ability to mount weather-tight MC4 connectors or PV wire stubs