Measure/record temp of Thermal Stores

Hi

We are having a Chelmer solar thermal/PV, wood stove and oil boiler solution installed which will use 2 x 500L thermal stores and a DWH tank.

My aim is to minimise oil use, and therefore I need to know when the thermal stores temperature drop to, or are dropping towards, a min temperature so I can load up the wood stove and save oil.

I envisage a display showing the various temperatures discreetly located in the living room near the stove, maybe colour coded so I can see if certain temps have been hit. Maybe an audio alarm. Also the same on my iphone/laptop with the ability to view temps over time periods.

I’ve been searching around for hours and cannot find the “out of the box” solution for this - I am not technical and cannot build anything.

I;d be very grateful for any help how to achieve this.

Thank in advance

It’s perfectly do-able but you’d have to become a bit technical to do it at a reasonable cost. I’m sure there are expensive commercial systems out there.

We have a thermal store with about 5 points where I read the temperatures using temperature sensors. Originally I did this using the emonTx which reads the PV and mains and also diverts excess PV to the immersion heater in the thermal store.

I switched this some time ago to an ESP2866 based system which now reads the temperatures but also manages the boiler which is used for backup heating of the store.

Admittedly I’m reasonably able to do this having spent time over the years learning about things like this, hardware, software etc.