How should I monitor a EcoDan heat pump?

Hello, friends
I am new with ASHP, I own 8.5kw R32 from a week. Do I need to install other device to monitor starts and stops, energy consummation and others ? I have FTC6 with wifi adapter installed and in my MelCloud reports are very strange for example -used energy 100kw delivery energy 1000kw, other it shows that HP never stops, the off time is I turn it off.

Hello Kaloyan! Youā€™ve come to the right place for advice on EcoDan, though it might be better to start a new thread about your particular case.

Can you tell us a bit more about how your heating system is controlled? Firstly, which mode is the heat pump running in? Is it room, flow or curve? Do you have a seperate room thermostat turning it on and off? Is your house too warm because itā€™s running all the time? Is it actually running all the time, or is that just what MELCloud says? What does the Hourly Temperature report look like?

The delivered / used energy is very odd, suggesting a COP of 10, which is way above what Iā€™d expect from an EcoDan. Did you have a heat meter installed with the system, or is MelCloud estimating it?

1 Like

Hello Tim,
My home is around 85sq.m. with floor heating. My bedrooms are with separate room thermostats set to 21 deg. and living room is with no control.
HP is PUZ-WM85VAA with FTC6 control by water flow set to 40deg., and I have 80 liter buffer tank. I use heat pump only for heating no DHW.
No it is not working all the time, MelCloud shows that never stops.
I dont have heat meter installed - all data reports are from MelCloud.

Hi @kaloyan_kisyov , welcome to the forum, a couple of tips.

When replying, click on the reply below the message you are replying to, and not the big ā€˜replyā€™ button at the bottom - that is replying to the start of the topic. The person who wrote the message you are replying to will get a notification (in some form).