How do I stop emon*

Stupid question but how do I stop everything to do with emon* ?

The filesystem holding /home/pi/data has errors, so I want to stop all the emon-related processes without stopping the machine so I can run fsck.

I had a quick search but didn’t find any answers. I also looked on the emoncms admin page and there are quite a lot of buttons but none to shut down the services?

I’m not a Linux expert - I think you’ll need to identify and kill them in turn. (And I can’t ever remember seeing this asked before now.)

This could be one to go on @TrystanLea’s To-Do list?

Thanks for responding, Robert. Merry Christmas! Not the best time to ask a question :grinning:

Killing things is, I suspect, not the best way to do it. Proabably some systemctl command or a specific emon-whatever command is what I’m hoping to identify. I’ll wait and see a bit. The system seems to be running for the moment even with the filesystem errors.

I suspect this is something that was never thought necessary. All I can suggest is you copy off the data that’s important to you while you can, and have a new SD card available ready to reload the backup onto.

Thanks again, Robert. I do keep backups but I’ve no reason to suspect the SD card at the moment. It was a power failure that took the system down and that can cause filesystem corruption. Most times ext4 will repair it automatically, but sometimes it may need some help.

Starting and stopping systems are the most basic kinds of software control. So I suspect there must be some form of words. Whatever normally happens when the pi is shut down for example.

I can understand starting, my suggestion was that stopping was not anticipated for a system that’s expected to run ‘forever’. Meaning, your desire to stop emonHub & emonCMS, independently of the OS, to work on the OS was not envisaged.

I think that’s the OS shutting down, and taking everything with it, not just emonHub & emonCMS.

That’s not quite how Linux works.